Sunday, February 9, 2014

Typecasting – Sorting Our Astrological Planets to Type

In the field of astrology all planetary bodies are sorted by type. There are the inner
planets: Sun, Moon, Mercury, Venus and Mars.  Although the Sun is a star and the Moon, our satellite, they are considered planetary bodies in astrology.  There are also outer planets: Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune and Pluto.  

Inner planets all have one feature in common.  It takes them less than two years to complete their respective orbits.  Yes, we orbit the Sun, but remember that astrology is what’s happening in the Heavens from Earth’s perspective.  Inner planets are also called ‘personal planets.’  Their influence over us is much different from the outer bank of planets simply because inner planets bebop through our signs much more frequently.

Their are two types of outer planets as well: Transitional planets and generational planets.  Jupiter and Saturn are transitional bodies, while Uranus, Neptune and Pluto are generational.  Jupiter, the planet of optimism, success, and generosity; i.e. the Santa Claus Planet, completes its orbit roughly every twelve years. This confident giant transits signs at the rate of one per year and astrologers look here for our opportunities to develop and become successful. Saturn, on the other hand, takes approximately twenty-nine and a half years to circle the Zodiac.  Saturn is where our lifetime achievement award is housed.  While Jupiter offers a closeup of our opportunities, Saturn shows us what we’ve accomplished and the lessons we’ve learned along the way.  Saturn is about rules, responsibilities, self-discipline and lasting achievement.  It’s also about the journey towards our goals and how we overcome obstacles to gain self-respect and security.

The notorious Saturn Return occurs about every thirty years
for each of us as Saturn returns to our birth sign.  During Saturn Return we are offered special challenges that are meant to move our lives forward and help us attain the things we yearn for whether we’ve admitted their existence or not.  Saturn Returns are pivot points in our lives.  We can make extraordinary advancements and set off in entirely new directions during its influence.

Generational planets are the slowest moving planets of all
and because their transits are so lengthy, their influence colors an entire generation.  Uranus take eighty-four years to complete an orbit – Neptune, 165 years.  Pluto is the winner for being last.  Its orbit takes 248 years.  Uranus transits at the rate of seven years per sign.  Neptune takes thirteen and three-quarters years to move from sign to sign, but Pluto takes an astounding twenty and two-thirds years to cross each sign.  Pluto’s influence in a particular sign is felt from cradle to adulthood, while Neptune’s reach only extends to adolescence.  Uranus carries a more rhythmic cycle of a seven year transit per sign.  Perhaps that’s the origins of the term, ‘seven year itch.’ After all, Uranus is the planet originality and unexpected change.  While Uranus challenges authority, Neptune relates to the mystical and Pluto assists in our transformation.

Astrology is a vast and complex system for analyzing the positions of heavenly bodies and the patterns of their influence on our lives.  Just when you think you’ve gotten a handle on what it really means, you turn the page in a book and discover a whole other level that has to be considered – but then again, that’s life, isn’t it?


No comments:

Post a Comment